Wave Simulator
Nach oben / Up History Keyboard Upgrade Wave Simulator Overflow

 

PPG Wave 2.2 / 2.3 / EVU Simulator

 -> 

Together with Paul Maddox, I developed a hardware/software combination to drag the PPG Waveterm into modern times - Waveterm C. I haven't found the time yet to finish it - other projects, like VSTHost, consume too much of my time. Besides, the capabilities of today's average computers have grown to a point where it's relatively easy to simulate a complete synthesizer, with only minute differences, inside the PC.  So... that's what I did. A demo version of the standalone variant can be found here, as part of the Waveterm C demo. This demo version has been specially crafted to complement the WTC32 Demo version. It emulates a complete PPG Wave; that means, this simulation consists of a simulated 6809 processor with a simulation of practically all peripheral chips that runs the original PPG software. This way, WaveSimD is nearly 100% compatible to an original PPG Wave. In fact, the simulation is so accurate that I've developed the V8.3 Upgrade completely (except for the final tests) on the full version of WaveSim.

Sonically, it isn't yet absolutely the same as the original, but it comes really close; close enough to allow a really good impression how, for example, a generated wavetable would sound if it had been sent by the full Waveterm C to a real PPG Wave 2.3.

WaveSimD is a demo version. This means that it has some limitations which the full version does not have:

bulletno MIDI; WaveSimD is intended for the sole purpose of complementing the WTC32 Demo. For that, MIDI is not necessary. The full version includes a complete MIDI interface - and even allows to remotely control each and every knob and external input (Program Switch, for example) via Midi CC messages.
bulletfixed to Wave 2.3 V6 (full version can be Wave 2.2 V3/V4/V6/V8, 2.3 V6/V8, EVU V2/V3/V4)
bulletbad long-term memory; it always comes up with the factory settings (full version keeps the RAM contents for each of the possible modes between invocations)
bulletreduced controls; the full version can be tweaked far beyond the possibilities of a real Wave (for example, the filters can be turned on and off, tuned over a range of 2 octaves, ...)

... but it works perfectly with Waveterm C (demo and full version).

VST Version

As noted above, I'm also creating programs in the VST area (VSTHost and its little brother SAVIHost). In parallel, I also created a VST variant of WaveSim. This one works inside a VST host, be it a big sequencer package or a small "standalonifier" like SAVIHost or Tobybear's Minihost. It doesn't have the full feature set yet (the debugging part is still missing), and some parameters that are easily tweaked in the standalone version can only be reached by parameter automation, but it works quite well already.

Please note that the simulation really is as accurate as possible; that is, while it has a keyboard, this is not velocity-sensitive (notes turned on by MIDI are using the velocity information), but the PPG-style aftertouch can be simulated by dragging the mouse up and down on pressed keys. All the knobs and keys on the UI are implemented as automated parameters, so you can even record and playback knob movements and/or data changes to the current program.

It comes in two flavors: a simple Wave 2.2 V6 simulation and the full-featured package that can simulate a Wave 2.2, Wave 2.3, or EVU in various software versions (you can even load custom OS EPROM images into this one).

Wave 2.2 V6 Simulation

The Wave 2.2 V6 simulation is freely available. A donation to my PayPal account using office@hermannseib.com as recipient and WaveSim as title would be nice, but I don't insist on it.

You can download the current version here (.zip file, 345K).
Here's the same thing for host programs that can only deal with VST 2.3 PlugIns (.zip, 338K).
Some additional sound banks (direct conversions of these files) are here (.zip file, 31K).

Features:

bullet8 voices, monotimbral, Stereo output
bulletMIDI (wouldn't work as a VSTi otherwise)
bulletOS: PPG Wave 2.2 V6
bulletFactory Sound Set (mostly not very impressive :-)
bulletProgram, Sustain, Trigger signals can be sent by parameter automation

You can download an up-to-date (hehe... from 1985 or so :-) German manual for the original Wave 2.2 from here. An English manual is there, too, but it's a very early version. As far as I remember, Paul's PPG CD-ROM should contain a more up-to-date one, if you need it. A converter between V8.3 SysEx files, Waldorf PPG Wave 2.V sound banks, and Wave 2.2 V6 sound banks can be found here.

Compatibility list

This Plugin has been tested with the following VST hosts (in alphabetical order):

bulletAbleton Live Lite 5.2
bulletHermann Seib VSTHost, SAVIHost, Audio Station Host :-)
bulletRaw Material Software Tracktion V1.6
bulletSteinberg Cubase VST/32 5.1, SX 1, SX 2, 4
bulletSynapse Audio Orion V7.62
bulletTopten Software Cantabile 1.2 Lite
bulletXT Software EnergyXT 2.5.1

Compatibility with other programs is very likely given, but it can't be guaranteed since no two VST programs really work in an identical way. I'd be grateful to receive test reports with other hosts that I don't have access to.

Wolfgang Palm's Wavetables '08

Wolfgang Palm has kindly provided a set of sound banks for WaveSim!
The complete package can be downloaded here.
Here is Wolfgang's description:

Background

In the years 2004 and '05, I occupied myself extensively with Sine Modeling, and invested much time into the development of analysis algorithms. In 2006, I tried to reduce some results of these analyses down to a point where they could be reproduced by a Wavetable synthesizer. Of course, this also stimulated me, since at the end of the '70s I had no analysis tools at hand when I created the first Wavetables for the System 340.

In 2008, I came to know Hermann, and he let me in on his works on the Wave software. In parallel, Hermann had developed a VST PlugIn that practically simulated an original Wave with the original EPROM code on a PC!

From that, it only was a little step to test my Wavetable experiments on his WaveSim, and we were both quite excited. Unfortunately, the whole thing went to sleep for some time... but now it has grown to a point where you can put a complete Wavetable + parameter set into a .fxb bank and load it back from there.

Details

The wavetables I made are grouped in the following categories:

A = Analysis analyzed from samples
S = Synthetic generated by rules
U = Utterance analyzed from speech
M = Mixing + Merging generated by mixing + merging of 2 Wavetables
V = Vowels resonators analyzed from vowels

Please remember: this is a simulation of the original Wave 2.2 / 2.3 which you are using here, with all its
restrictions and oddities!
WaveSim was always thought as a 100% simulation of the original. Don't expect a smooth modern Vst instrument here.

Parameter settings

I made the Programs as simple as possible, just to demonstrate the pure Wavetables. In particular, there are no filter sweeps used.

Some of the WTs also use the Upper Wavetable. Since I have not used the standard waves at position 61,62,63 like in the original PPG EPROMs, the upper and lower wavetables can be used as one double length table! This is especially interesting with sounds that demand a long loop.
To achieve this, set "ModWheel -> Waves" = 1 (MW=1) and turn up the Modwheel as desired. Luckily, the ModWheel intensity is included in the wave program dataset! I marked the fxb's where I used that with (U) "using upper WT".

Some of the WTs are organized backward, and they are swept through by using a long Attack-time.

I have set up the programs for the Utterance WTs so that you hear the full wavesequence. It may be more useful to use single waves, and the filter, but PPG users know all that anyway.

Please don't ask me about the original voices, you may guess it, but there is space for fantasy. I noted the MIDI-key for the original pitch in brackets. E.g. MIDI-key (69) is the middle A on the wave Keyboard.

Tip:
Once you open the "File Open Dialog", you may pull it up to a comfortable size.

For owners of the original Waves and EVUs there's the possibility to load these wavetables into their devices, as long as they contain V8.3 or a younger OS. For that, I've writtena special "mini version" of Waveterm C that can handle Wolfgang's original files.
It can be downloaded here.
Since original Waves and EVUs can't handle VST-compatible sound banks, you'll also need Wolfgang's original files.
They can be downloaded here.

Cornel Hecht has created a direct comparison between WaveSim and his Wave 2.2 with some of Wolfgang's wavetables, and put it up on YouTube: Part 1 and Part 2. The similarity is really astonishing.
 

Wave 2.2, 2.3, EVU Simulation

This one still is the "big brother" of the above variant. Features, in addition to those of the Wave 2.2 V6 simulation:

bulletEmulation of Wave 2.3 and EVU, thus:
bullet8 voices, mono-/multitimbral (depending on simulated device)
bulletStereo and Single voice outputs
bulletvast range of included operating systems (Wave 2.2 V3,V4,V4.5,V6,V8; Wave 2.3 V6,V8; EVU V2,V3,V4)
bulletcan load EPROM images for other versions
bulletcan talk to Waveterm C to include the complete range of transient sounds, user-defined Wavetables etc. available through a Waveterm
bulletRemote Control of all aspects via MIDI
bulletfilters separately (de-)tunable over 2 octaves
bulletfilters and sound generation (OK, that's admittedly not very usable most of the time :-) can be turned on and off

This variant is available now. If you're interested, please contact me.

Auch in Deutsch erhältlich!

Last update: 01/07/11

Wave Simulator
Nach oben / Up Lebenslauf Keyboard Upgrade Wave Simulator Überlauf

 

PPG Wave 2.2 / 2.3 / EVU Simulator

PPG Wave 2.2 / 2.3

 ->

Ich habe zusammen mit Paul Maddox eine Hardware-/Softwarekombination entwickelt, um das PPG Waveterm in die heutige Zeit zu zerren - Waveterm C. Ich habe noch nicht die Zeit gefunden, dieses Programm fertigzustellen - andere Projekte, wie VSTHost, zehren zu stark an meiner ohnehin knapp bemessenen Freizeit. Abgesehen davon sind die Möglichkeiten der Durchschnittscomputer von Heute bins zu einem Punkt gestiegen, der es ermöglicht, komplette Synthesizer mit nur kleinen Abweichungen im PC zu simulieren. Das habe ich auch getan. Eine Demoversion der Standalonevariante befindet sich hier, als Teil der WTC32-Demoversion. Das Programm simuliert einen kompletten PPG Wave; sprich, die Simulation besteht aus einem virtuellen 6809-Prozessor, zusammen mit einer Virtualisierung beinahe aller Peripheriebaugruppen, auf dem die Originalfirmware des PPG Wave läuft. Dadurch ist WaveSim beinahe 100% kompatibel zu einem echten PPG Wave. Die Simulation ist derart genau, dass ich das V8.3-Upgrade für den "echten" Wave komplett (bis auf die Finaltests) auf der Vollversion von WaveSim entwickelt habe.

Klanglich ist die Simulation noch nicht ganz genau gleich wie das Original, kommt aber schon sehr nahe heran; jedenfalls nahe genug, um einen wirklich guten Eindruck davon zu bekommen, wie beispielsweise eine generierte Wavetable klingen würde, wenn sie von der Echtversion von Waveterm C aus zu einem echten PPG Wave 2.3 gesendet würde.

WaveSimD ist eine Demoversion. Das bedeutet einige Einschränkungen gegenüber der Vollversion:

bulletkein MIDI; WaveSimD ist nur zur Vervollständigung der Waveterm C-Demo gedacht. Dafür ist MIDI nicht notwendig. Die Echtversion enthält eine komplette MIDI-Implementierung - und erlaubt sogar, jeden einzelnen Regler und jeden externen Eingang (Programmweiterschaltung, zum Beispiel) über MIDI Controller zu steuern.
bulletfixiert auf Wave 2.3 V6 (Echtversion beherrscht Wave 2.2 V3/V4/V6/V8, 2.3 V6/V8, EVU V2/V3/V4)
bulletschlechtes Langzeitgedächtnis; startet immer mit den Originalprogrammen (die Echtversion hebt den Speicherinhalt für jede der möglichen Simulationen in Dateien auf)
bulletreduzierte Eingriffsmöglichkeiten; die Echtversion kann weit über die Möglichkeiten eines echten Wave hinaus parametriert werden (die Filter können beispielsweise über einen Bereich von 2 Oktaven verstimmt werden)

...aber die Demo arbeitet perfekt mit Waveterm C (Demo- und Vollversion) zusammen.

VST Version

Wie bereits erwähnt, schreibe ich auch Programme im VST-Bereich (VSTHost und sein kleiner Bruder SAVIHost). Im Zuge dessen habe ich auch eine VST-Variante von WaveSim entwickelt. Diese arbeitet, anders als die obige Standalone-Version, innerhalb eines VST-Hostprogramms, sei es nun ein großmächtiges Sequencerpaket oder ein kleiner Spezialist wie SAVIHost oder Tobybears Minihost. Die VST-Variante verfügt noch nicht über die vollen Möglichkeiten der Standalone-Version (der Debugging-Teil fehlt noch), und manche der Parameter die in der Standalone-Version leicht verstellt werden können, sind nur über Parameterautomation erreichbar - aber sie funktioniert schon recht gut.

Die Simulation ist wirklich so genau wie möglich; sprich, die simulierte Klaviatur ist nicht anschlagsdynamisch (im Gegensatz zu über MIDI getriggerten Noten), der PPG-typische Aftertouch kann aber durch das vertikale Ziehen der Maus mit gedrückter Maustaste über den gedrückten Tasten simuliert werden. Alle Regler und Schalter auf der Bedienoberfläche sind als Automationsparameter realisiert, so dass man sie sogar in einem Sequencer aufnehmen kann.

Die VST-Version kommt in zwei Varianten, einer einfachen Wave 2.2 V6 - Simulation sowie der Vollversion, die einen Wave 2.2, Wave 2.3, oder eine EVU mit verschiedensten Softwareversionen simulieren kann (es können sogar eigene EPROM-Images geladen werden).

Wave 2.2 V6 Simulation

Die Wave 2.2 V6-Simulation ist frei erhältlich. Eine Spende auf mein PayPal-Konto mit office@hermannseib.com als Empfänger und WaveSim als Titel wäre sehr nett, aber ich bestehe nicht darauf.

Die aktuelle Version kann hier heruntergeladen werden (.zip, 345K).
Hier gibt's dasselbe für Hostprogramme, die nur mit dem VST 2.3-Format umgehen können (.zip, 338K).
Zusätzliche Soundbänke (Umsetzungen dieser Dateien) gibt's hier hier (.zip, 31K).

Features:

bullet8stimmig, monotimbral, Stereoausgang
bulletMIDI (könnte sonst schwerlich als VSTi funktionieren)
bulletOS: PPG Wave 2.2 V6
bulletFactory Sound Set (größtenteils aus heutiger Sicht nicht sehr beeindruckend :-)
bulletProgram-, Sustain-, Trigger-Signale können über Parameterautomation gesendet werden

Ein aktuelles (hehe... aus dem Jahre 1985 oder so :-) deutsches Handbuch für den Wave 2.2 kann hier heruntergeladen werden. Ein englisches Handbuch ist auch vorhanden, allerdings handelt es sich dabei um eine sehr frühe Version. Soweit ich mich erinnern kann, enthält Pauls PPG CD-ROM eine weit aktuellere Version. Ein Konverter zwischen 8.V-SysEx-Dateien, Waldorf PPG Wave 2.V Bänken und WaveSim-Bänken sowie anderen Formaten befindet sich hier.

Kompatibilitätsliste

Dieses Plugin wurde mit folgenden VST-Hosts getestet (in alphabetischer Reihenfolge):

bulletAbleton Live Lite 5.2
bulletHermann Seib VSTHost, SAVIHost, Audio Station Host :-)
bulletRaw Material Software Tracktion V1.6
bulletSteinberg Cubase VST/32 5.1, SX 1, SX 2, 4
bulletSynapse Audio Orion V7.62
bulletTopten Software Cantabile 1.2 Lite
bulletXT Software EnergyXT 2.5.1

Eine Kompatibilität mit anderen Programmen ist zwar sehr wahrscheinlich, kann aber nicht garantiert werden, da leider keine zwei Programme wirklich gleich funktionieren. Für Testberichte mit anderen, mir nicht verfügbaren Hosts wäre ich dankbar.

Wolfgang Palms Wavetables '08

Wolfgang Palm hat freundlicherweise einen Satz an Soundbänken für WaveSim zur Verfügung gestellt!
Das komplette Paket kann hier heruntergeladen werden.
Wolfgangs Text dazu:

Hintergrund

Ich hatte mich in den Jahren 2004 und '05 ausgiebig mit Sine Modeling beschäftigt, und besonders viel Zeit in die Entwicklung von Analyse-Algorithmen gesteckt.

Irgendwann in 2006 habe ich dann versucht, einige Ergebnisse der Analysen soweit zu reduzieren, dass sie von einem Wavetable Synthesizer reproduziert werden können. Das hat mich natürlich auch deswegen gereizt, weil ich damals Ende der '70er keinerlei Analyse Hilfsmittel zur Verfügung hatte, als ich die ersten Wavetables für das 340'er System aufgebaut habe.

2008 habe ich dann Hermann kennengelernt, und er hat mich in seine Arbeiten an der Software des Wave eingeweiht. Parallel dazu hatte Hermann ein Vst-Plugin entwickelt, was praktisch einen Original-Wave mit dem Original-EPROM-code auf einem PC simuliert!

Dann war es nur noch ein kleiner Schritt, um meine Wavetable-Experimente auf seinem WaveSim zu testen, und wir waren beide begeistert. Leider ist das Ganze dann erstmal wieder eingeschlafen... aber nun ist es soweit, dass man einen kompletten Wavetable + Parameter Datensatz in einer fxb Bank speichern und laden kann.

Details

Meine Wavetables sind in die folgenden Gruppen eingeteilt:

A = Analysis von Samples analysiert
S = Synthetic durch Regeln berechnet
U = Utterance aus Sprache analysiert
M = Mixing + Merging durch Mischen von 2 Wavetables erzeugt
V = Vowels aus Vokalen analysierte Resonatoren

Bitte bedenken Sie, dass es sich um die Simulation des Original Wave 2.2 / 2.3 handelt, mit all seinen Gegebenheiten und Macken!
WaveSim war immer als 100%ige Simulation des Originals gedacht. Erwarten Sie bitte kein geschmeidiges modernes Vst-Plugin!

Parametereinstellungen

Ich habe die dazugehörigen Programme so einfach wie möglich gehalten (also kein Filter Verlauf etc.), um die puren Wavetables zu demonstrieren.

Einige der neuen WTs benutzen den Upper Wavetable mit. Die Envelope kann dabei upper und lower kontinuierlich durchlaufen.

Manche Wavetables sind rückwärts organisiert. Das ist besonders dann sinnvoll, wenn man am Ende des Ablaufes eine "long loop" laufen lassen möchte. Dies ist möglich indem man den "ModWheel -> Waves" = 1 setzt (MW=1) und dann das ModWheel etwas aufdreht. Hierbei ist es vorteilhaft, dass der Wave das ModWheel im Prog mit abgespeichert!
Die entsprechenden fxb files sind mit (U) gekennzeichnet.

Den Originalablauf erhält man mit langer Attack time (wodurch die Hüllkurve von Welle #0 hochläuft).

Für Besitzer von Original-Waves besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Wavetables in ihre Geräte zu laden, sofern sie V8.3 oder eine jüngere Betriebssystemversion enthalten. Hierzu habe ich eine spezielle "Mini-Version" von Waveterm C gebastelt, die mit Wolfgangs Originaldateien umgehen kann.
Diese kann hier heruntergeladen werden.
Nachdem Original-Waves und EVUs mit VST-kompatiblen Soundbänken nicht viel anfangen können, braucht man auch noch Wolfgangs Originaldateien.
Diese können hier heruntergeladen werden.

Cornel Hecht hat damit einen Vergleich zwischen WaveSim und seinem echten Wave 2.2 angestellt und auf YouTube veröffentlicht:  Teil 1  und Teil 2. Wirklich erstaunlich, wie ähnlich das Ergebnis ist.
 

Wave 2.2, 2.3, EVU Simulation

Diese Simulation ist der "große Bruder" der obigen Variante. Zusätzliche Features im Vergleich zur Wave 2.2 V6 Simulation:

bulletSimulation von Wave 2.3 and EVU, daher:
bullet8stimmig, mono-/multitimbral (je nach simuliertem Gerät)
bulletStereo und Einzelausgänge
bulletumfangreiche Anzahl verwendbarer Betriebssysteme (Wave 2.2 V3,V4,V4.5,V6,V8; Wave 2.3 V6,V8; EVU V2,V3,V4)
bulletkann EPROMs anderer Versionen laden
bulletkann mit Waveterm C kommunizieren und erhält dadurch Zugriff auf dessen Möglichkeit, selbstdefinierte Wavetables und Samples ("Transient Sounds" in PPG-Terminologie) zu verwenden
bulletFernsteuerung aller Aspekte über MIDI
bulletFilter einzeln über 2 Oktaven (ver-)stimmbar
bulletFilter und Klangerzeugung (OK, das ist zugegebenermaßen nicht oft sinnvoll :-) können ein- und ausgeschaltet werden

Die Simulation ist jetzt verfügbar. Bei Interesse bitte ich, mich zu kontaktieren.

 

Also available in English!

Stand: 07.01.11